Top Spin Bowlers From Indian Cricket

Bookmark and Share

Cricket is everything in India and cricketers are worshipped here. India has produced some of the world’s greatest cricket spinners of all time.

A collective name was given to the Indian spin bowlers of 1960s and 1970s. Erapalli Prasanna and Srinivas Venkataraghavan who both were off-spinners, Bhagwat Chandrashekhar who was a leg spinner and Bhishen Singh Bedi who was a left-arm spinner were together called The Indian Spin Quartet.

They played 231 test matches and took 853 wickets together. They were one of the most deadly combinations. Indians are famous for their spin bowling.

Few of the best spinners produced by India are:

  • Erapalli Prasanna- He was a right-arm off break bowler. He  has achieved the fastest 100 wickets in tests for any Indian bowlers in just 20 matches which is still an Indian record. He has taken 186 test wickets. He has 10 five-wicket haul in 49 matches.

He was given the Padma Shri award in 1970 and also Castrol Lifetime Achievement award in 2006.

  • Bhagwat Chandrasekhar- He was a leg break bowler though he was not a big turner of the ball. He was unpredictable and the batsmen never knew what to expect from him. He took 242 test wickets with 16 five-wicket hauls and also 3 ODI wickets in the only match he played.

He was named ‘Wisden Cricketer of the Year’ in 1972 and won Wisden’s ‘Best bowling performance of the century’ award in 2002 for his 6 wickets for 38 runs against England in 1971.

  • Srinivas Venkataraghavan- He was an off spin bowler. He took 156 test wickets in 57 matches and 5 ODI wickets . He later on became a cricket administrator.

He was awarded with the Padma Shri in 2003.

  • Anil Kumble- He is a leg-spinner and  the leading wicket taker for India. He has 619 wickets to his credit. He took 337 ODI wickets with 35 five-wicket hauls in tests and twice in ODIs. His leg-spin bowling style was unique.

He was awarded the Padma Shri in 2005 and Arjuna Award in 1995.

  • Harbhajan Singh- He comes second in terms of wicket after Kumble and he is still playing. He is India’s one of the best off-spinners. Till date, he has 411 test wickets to his credit and 259 ODI wickets with 25 five-wicket hauls.
  • Ravi Shastri and Krisnamachari Srikanth were two other spinners of India. While Ravi Shastri took 151 test wickets and 121 ODI wickets, Srikanth has 25 ODI wickets to his credit.
  • In the present Indian team, Ravindra Jadeja (slow left-arm orthodox) who has taken 27 test wickets in just 5 tests and 90 ODI wickets in 75 matches, Ravicharan Ashwin (right-arm off break) who has taken 92 test wickets in 16 matches and 72 ODI wickets in 52 matches, Pragyan Ojha (slow left-arm orthodox) who has taken 102 test wickets in 22 matches and 21 ODI wickets in 18 matches deserves mention.

As we all know, cricket is a well-known game of our country. Previously, this game was co...    More..
Cricket is perhaps the most sought-after sport in India. Due to its popularity most the p...    More..
The ICC Champions Trophy is an international cricket tournament. It is a tournament of on...    More..
In the beginning of the 20th century a desperate need for an organisation to oversee the ...    More..

Photo Gallery

You may also like to read about...

Indian cricket team scheduled Matches for 2013

2013 is an event full year of Indian cricket; we have seen many great players taking retirement as well as many new rising talents are joining team.Al...   


IPL Connection of Bollywood Actresses

The days of film stars playing charity matches with cricketers are a thing of past; the king of all entertainment, Indian Premier League, has made maj...   


How to choose a good Cricket Bat with Brand value

While agreeing-on for choosing the best cricket bat, various numbers of confusions may come up on your mind, regarding ‘what to choose?’...   


ICC Champions Trophy 2013 schedule & venues

The ICC Champions Trophy is an international cricket tournament. It is a tournament of one-day matches and is supposed to be held between June 6 and J...